Fantastic Friday Part 2

Hey everyone this is Zach Luman. Today, one of my main highlights was visiting the Macha hospital and volunteering my time with the children’s unit. Most of these kids seemed to be recovering from surgery or burn wounds. It was very difficult with the language barrier, but simply spending time with the kids and helping them with activities such as puzzles, coloring, or bouncing balls with them made their smiles light up. I could see the joy in their eyes and it was such a humbling experience. We couldn’t even communicate, but simply loving them was all the communication we needed. God was definitely present as always in this moment.

The other highlight of my day was sharing a small testimony of my life to the children in the afternoon at the rec center. I planned absolutely nothing and just let Jesus take over and my story seemed to come out perfect to them. Zambia is challenging me to step out of my comfort zone and be more courageous in my walk with God. The main thing that stood out to me the most today was that while we couldn’t communicate with some of the children, they always want to high five you and their smiles could light up the world. It’s incredible to see God moving in these children’s lives and I can’t wait to see what God has in store for the rest of the trip. I love our team and everyone we have talked to. Tomorrow we are going to another village and helping filter water, so that should be an amazing day! To everyone back home, thank you for continuing to pray for us. You’re the best!

Love, Luman

3 thoughts on “Fantastic Friday Part 2

  1. Spread the word Messiah Athletes. You guys and gals are blessed beyond belief. You make us parents proud. Spread the good word.

    Like

  2. Thank you so much for your post about the children. It is just amazing how the language barrier was overcome with love and caring provided by you and your team. Nothing is impossible through God- all barriers can be overcome! I will continue to pray for God to use your team to improve the lives of all involved.
    Brenda

    Like

Leave a comment